Tuesday, October 15, 2013

Revenge of a Not-So-Pretty Girl by Carolita Blythe

Faye and her friends break into an old woman’s apartment and rob her as this novel begins.  Disappointed and rattled, Faye returns home to her abusive mother who has anger issues, only to be haunted by the possibility that she may have accidentally caused the death of her victim. Concerned with the concept of karma, Faye revisits the scene of the crime to learn what fate she has wrought herself.  Set in the eighties in Brooklyn, reluctant teen readers will miss some of the nostalgia and humor, but more experienced readers will enjoy the ride nonetheless.  Fans of Sharon Flake and Sharon Draper will enjoy this novel which is a bit longer and relies more heavily on sarcasm and inference. However, Blythe’s writing is tightly plotted and the short chapters are well placed to create a sense of momentum and suspense as Faye’s journey through freshman year unfolds. Strongly recommended for middle school and younger high school independent reading as well as book clubs.--Jessica Fenster-Sparber

Blythe, Carolita.  Revenge of a Not-So-Pretty Girl.  New York: Delacorte Books for Young Readers, 2013.

No comments: